Kahoot follow-up: the students loved it

In last week’s post, I gave an account of relevant apps for Mobile-Assisted Language Learning (MALL). I thought immediately that I had to try it out in class, since simply writing about it does not lead anywhere. So, the following day I introduced when I was teaching an English class as a substitute teacher. I did not spend the full lesson on Kahoot. The students were working on a the topic: “Inventions”. They gave group presentations on their own made-up inventions. Afterwards, students worked with puzzles and crosswords on the topic. Finally, I told them we were going to do a quiz on Kahoot. The reaction was immediate; the students could almost not sit still by their desks.

One challenge you might face is that some students might not possess a smart phone or bring a computer. This happened in my case. The Law of Education(Kunnskapsdep 1998) has a principle of free policy in Norwegian primary and lower secondary schools. Since I only wanted to conduct one quiz, Human Inventions (by Kahoot), I organised the students in groups. Group cohesion was quickly established and the competitiveness was fierce.  The school I work at possesses student Ipads which could also solve this conundrum. In my experience, Kahoot is thus a game based learning supplement which can function as a pedagogic treat for students when working on a subject.

 

References:

Kunnskapsdep. (1998). Law of Education for the Primary and Secondary School (Opplæringslova).   Retrieved10.4.2014, from http://lovdata.no/dokument/NL/lov/1998-07-17-61

Vattoey, K. D. (2014, Apr 9) Apps + Homework = MALL [Online]. Available at: https://vattkimd.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/apps-homework-mall 

2 thoughts on “Kahoot follow-up: the students loved it

  1. There’s really a lot of potential in this tool. I guess around 90% of the PPU students I visited during teaching practice used/had been using Kahoot. Did you also know that you could generate the results in a spreadsheet, which easily allows you to get an overview of the results, and to follow up on single students’ development?

    • I didn’t know that. That’s a great idea! One challenge is that some students are reluctant to state their real names, and I have heard of episodes where students have nicknamed themselves inappropriate things. I think clear instruction and negotiation of rules on beforehand could be a possible solution to this challenge.

Leave a Reply

